Preserved Railways

Picture of BR Standard Tank Engine

Preserved railways or heritage railways can be found the length and breadth of the country and provide an excellent day out for families and enthusiasts. A significant range of trains, rolling stock and railroad memorabilia is on show and often but a short drive from home.

The trains and rolling stock are but one element of the preserved railway - many facilities reveal the significant imapact that the train has had on society.

Preserved Railways in the United Kingdom
Railway Name Location Web Site Comments
Heritage Railways n/a www.heritagerailways.co.uk Guide to heritage railways in the UK.
IRail n/a www.irail.co.uk General index of railway related websites.
Narrow Gauge Heaven n/a www.narrowgauge.co.uk Directory of UK narrow gauge railways.
Avon Valley Railway Avon www.avonraileway.org
Caledonian Railway Scotland www.caledonianrailway.co.uk
Chinnor & Princess Risborough Railway  www.cprra.co.uk
Churnet Valley Railway churnet-valley-railway.co.uk
Cockermouth, Keswick & Penrith Railway www.ckp-railways.co.uk
Colne Valley Railway www.cvr.co.uk
Dartmoor Railway Devon www.dartmoorrailway.co.uk
East Lancashire Railway Lancs www.east-lancs-rlwy.co.uk
East Somerset Railway Somerset www.eastsomersetrailway.org.uk
Ecclesbourne Valley Railway www.e-v-r.com
Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway mbsayboltonabbeyrailway.org.uk
Foxfield Steam Railway www.foxfieldrailway.co.uk
Gloucestershire & Warwickshire Railway www.gwsr.com
Great Central Railway www.mlst.org Main Line Steam Trust
Gwili Railway www.gwili-railway.co.uk
Isle of Wight Steam Railway www.iwsteamrailway.co.uk
Keighley & Worth Valley Railway www.kwvr.co.uk
Lakeside & Haverthwaite Railway www.lakesiderailway.co.uk
Llangollen Railway www.llangollenrailway.co.uk
Mid Norfolk Railway www.mnr.org.uk
Northampton & Lamport Railway www.nlr.org.uk
North Norfolk Railway www.nnrailway.co.uk
Peak Rail www.peakrail.co.uk
Pontypool & Blaenavon Railway www.pontypool-and-blaenavon.co.uk
Severn Valley Railway www.svr.co.uk
South Devon Railway www.southdevonrailway.org
Swanage Railway Trust www.swanagerailwaytrust.org.uk
Swindon & Cricklade Railway www.swindon-cricklade-railway.org
Telford Steam Railway www.telfordsteamrailway.co.uk
West Somerset Railway www.wsra.co.uk
Bredgar & Wormshill Light Railway www.bwlr.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Festiniog Railway/Welsh Highland Railway www.festrail.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Isle of Man Steam Railway www.iomguide.com Narrow Gauge
Leighton-Buzzard Railway www.buzzrail.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway www.ravenglass-railway.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Seaton Tramway www.tram.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Sittingbourne & Kemsley Railway www.sklr.net Narrow Gauge
Talyllyn Railway www.talyllyn.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Teifi Valley Railway www.teifivalleyrailway.com Narrow Gauge
Vale of Rheidol www.rheidolrailway.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Wells & Walsingham Light Railway www.wellswalsinghamrailway.co.uk Narrow Gauge
Welshpool & LLanfair Light Railway www.wllr.org.uk Narrow Gauge
Ayrshire Railway Preservation Group www.arpg.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Bressingham Steam Museum www.bressingham.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Buckingamshire Railway Centre www.bucksrailcentre.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Cambrian Railway Centre www.cumbran-railway-soc.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Suburban Electric Railway Association www.emus.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Darlington Railway Centre & Museum www.drcm.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Devon Railway Centre www.devonrailwaycentre.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Great Western Society www.didcotrailwaycentre.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Great Western Preservation Group (Southall) www.gwrpg.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Hollycombe Steam Collection www.hollycombe.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Kidderminster Railway Museum www.krm.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
London Transport Museum www.londontransport.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Lynton & Barnstaple  Railway Project www.lynton-barnstaple-railway.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
National Railway Museum York www.nrm.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
National Railway Museum , Shildon Locomotion www.locomotion.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Railway Age at Crewe www.therailwayage.co.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Ribble Steam Railway www.ribblesteam.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Museum of the Great Western Railway Swindon www.steam-museum.org.uk Museum/ Preservation Centre
Tyseley Locomotive Works Birmingham www.vintagetrains.co.uk/brm.htm Museum/ Preservation Centre
Great Western Study Group n/a www.gwstudygroup.org.uk Society
Welsh Railway Research Group n/a www.wrrc.org.uk Society
Scottish Railway Preservation Society n/a www.srps.org.uk Society
Monmouthshire Railway Society n/a www.mrsoc.co.uk Society
Industrial Railway Society n/a www.irsociety.co.uk Society
LNWR Society n/a www.lmwrs.org.uk Society
Broad Gauge Society n/a www.broadgauge.org.uk Society
South Western Circle n/a www.lswr.org Society
Historical Model Rail Society n/a www.hmrs.org.uk Society
LMS Jubilees n/a www.jubilees.co.uk Society
Railwest n/a www.trainweb.org/railwest Archive
Great Western Archive n/a www.greatwestern.co.uk Archive
War Department Light Railways n/a www.wdlr.org.uk Archive
Heritage Railway Magazine n/a www.heritagerailway.co.uk Publication
British Railway Illustrated n/a www.irwellpress.co.uk Publication
Midland Record n/a www.midlandrecord.com Publication
Steam Railway n/a www.steamrailway.co.uk Publication